Take a Seat: Industrial Chair Makeover

20160414_141310

I’m really trying to create functional furniture with my flea market find transformations. The $30 desk secretary I bought at a flea market, from the original owner’s daughter, is one of my favorite makeovers. You can find the details and tutorial on my post, “Desk Secretary Gets Promotion” here.

As useful as the desk is, it needed a chair. Cue the $5 industrial chair which I picked up in a warehouse sale. The metal chair was in good shape, however, the cushion would need recovering. 20160402_144752

After cleaning the dust and grime off the chair, I painted it with the same chalky finish paint I used on the desk, DecoArt’s “Serene.” Using a small roller, the paint adhered well to the metal. I finished in less than two hours, including drying time between coats.20160413_135458

When I was [a lot] younger, I wondered why my Mom had a huge stash of fabric that just seemed to keep piling up. I didn’t realize what the point was…until I had a stash of my own! You never know when that yellow gingham check fabric will be the perfect choice for your next project. I cut a piece about 3″ larger on each side than the cushion, folded it taut on each side, and stapled it into place, then working the corners in, keeping the puckering to a minimum. I repeated the process with the chair back, and screwed both covered pieces into place.

20160414_141310

Now the desk has a mate, and it is the perfect place to sip a freshly-brewed cup of coffee and jot down notes for the day.

20160414_141618

Did you notice that the yellow gingham check perfectly matches the pineapple stenciled on the desktop?

20160414_141416

20151116_153939_001

For the full tutorial on the desk secretary makeover, visit

Desk Secretary Gets Promoted

If you’re visiting from my site on blogger, please click the “FOLLOW” button on the bottom right of this blog so you’ll never miss a new post!

Dagmar's Home Thrifty and Vintage link party featured

Check out my Linky Party page to see where I party and share my projects.

Also sharing at Coastal Charm

 

17 thoughts on “Take a Seat: Industrial Chair Makeover

  1. Oh my friend, I adore both the chair and the desk! What talent you have. The gingham and pineapple stencil are just perfect! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Like

Leave a Reply

