Repurposed Typewriter Table into Beer Cart

20160129_102113

Old metal typewriter tables can be found at garage sales, flea markets and sometimes, even left out on a curb. Many are sold online as well, which is where I found this beauty. [Please disregard the backgammon board in front of the table. At the time, I thought I would pair the two. Plans changed.]

Remember the vintage sling chairs I restored?  We use them all the time. I wanted to create a beverage cart to match the chairs’ nautical theme. DecoArt provided me with the perfect chalky finish paint and wax to make this project easy as 1-2-3.

Paint Colors

I painted the typewriter table using DecoArt’s “Legacy,” a beautiful deep blue. I painted the entire table, legs and all. And this is how it looked–very blue, do you agree?

20160129_114002

Although the blue is a wonderful color, the table needed more interest. So I taped off the edges, including the fold-out leaf.

20160130_105541

Then I painted the center areas in DecoArt’s “Everlasting,” a true white. The table looks better already, but it still needed more oomph.

20160130_112611-1

Out came the “Nautical Knot” stencil by Americana Decor. Using a stencil brush and black “Carbon” paint, I gently painted inside the stencil design. Be sure to dab the brush with paint onto a paper towel first to get rid of the excess paint. This will help avoid seepage under the stencil.

20160130_154040

I love the way the compass came out on the table. However, the leaf now looked plain.

20160130_160626

Using the Patio Paint Home & Garden “Vintage Numbers” stencil, I painted numbers on the fold-out leaf to represent map coordinates.

Wax

Once the numbers and letters dried [which was very quick], I waxed the entire table with Clear Creme Wax. For a slightly time-worn look to the cart, I added Golden Brown Creme Wax, quickly wiping it off until I achieved the look I wanted.

Dark Wax

Then I adhered hemp rope trim along the edges of the main surface.

20160505_101754

The typewriter table was simple to paint, stencil, wax and accessorize to repurpose it into our new beer cart. I added a woven basket at the bottom to hold extra beer and glasses,

20160505_110006

tied hemp rope around two mason jars,

20160505_123542

bought a double pail to use as an ice bucket and bought coordinating drink napkins.

20160505_123549

Lastly, I adhered an anchor hook to hold a towel.

20160505_123523

Now, we are ready for hot days and warm evenings to relax and unwind in our nautical backyard.

20160505_124203


Sweet Inspiration Button

I am part of DecoArt’s Outside Artists program, and received product and compensation for this project. However, all ideas are 100% my own.

28 thoughts on “Repurposed Typewriter Table into Beer Cart

  1. I love this idea. The colors are great and the stencil along with the rope gives it just the right touch. The fact that it is a repurposed item from a typewriter table into a beer cart, makes it all the more special. Love how you were able to match it with the chairs. Pinning and sharing. Thank you for joining us at Sweet Inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my Doreen, this is fabulous! I love the nautical compass and rope. I have a cart like this next to my craft table. Love using it to hold odds and ends that I need when crafting. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love what you did + the nautical-themed seating area. I’ve yet to try chalk paint so this project has inspired me! Visiting from Sweet Inspiration party.

    Like

    1. Thanks for visiting and leaving me a comment! Chalk paint is so easy to use. There are a lot of kinds out there from inexpensive to expensive, as well as homemade. I’ve tried them all. So what will you paint first? Hope you’ll come back often to check out my new projects. Enjoy your weekend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

