Sewing Box Transformation

20160325_164500-1

I have a sweet spot for sewing boxes. Not the modern fabric-covered cutesy ones, but the wooden type from our Mom’s and Grandmother’s generations. I found this one at a thrift store while in Ventura last month, and I knew it had great potential to turn into something scrumptious.

Here is all the thrift store goodness I found that same weekend.

20160304_123633

But now back to the sewing box. It was scratched, dusty and begging for a makeover.

Closed Box

20160325_164500-1

After removing the hardware, I gave the box two coats of Annie Sloan chalk paint in Old White.

20160325_184613

Added Duck Egg Blue on the trim.

20160326_160910-1

I used a gorgeous stencil called “Cakeshop” by Maison De Stencils. I stenciled the design with “Carbon” – black – in DecoArt’s chalky finish paint.  Then reinstalled the hardware.

20160510_145350

I also added an accent design on the inside lid. This is from Americana Decor’s stencil, “Cafe Paris.”

20160510_153754

I finished by waxing with ASCP clear wax, buffing with a clean lint-free rag, and slightly distressing it with sandpaper.

20160510_145444

So, what do you think of the new look?  Is it just me, or are you also craving cupcakes?

Close Up After

 

10 thoughts on “Sewing Box Transformation

  1. What a beautiful box this is. It was quite stunning before but now you have taken it to a whole other level. I love the blue accent paint you have used on it, Doreen. And this must be a decent size too. Are you going to use it for sewing supplies or for other treasures? We are so glad you were able to share with us at Sweet Inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sew On & Sew Forth
  3. This is so sweet! The sewing basket was a great find — sturdy and full of character. Then you made it even better by transformed it into a lovely container. I love the stenciling. Great job. I saw your link at Becca’s DIY Vintage Chic party.

    Like

Leave a Reply

