Upcycled Toy Chest into Drink Cooler

20160522_163811

With summer starting this weekend, it’s time to spruce up the patio in time for throwing backyard get-togethers. 

This flea market find vintage toy chest was collecting dust for several years. It was time to give it a new lease on life, so I upcycled it into an ice cooler.

20160515_152800

DecoArt introduced several new paint lines including their Americana Decor Outdoor Living paint. This paint can be used on exterior and interior surfaces, and it doesn’t require a sealer! It comes in beautiful colors. I chose “Adirondack” and “Sand” for this project. I also used three Chalky Finish Paints in “Carbon,” “Heritage” and “Enchanted” for the stencils.

5 Paint Colors

After thoroughly cleaning and drying the box, I used a small roller to roll on the “Adirondack.” This paint goes on smoothly and dries quickly to a beautiful sheen.

Painting Adirondack

I removed the lid and handles before painting to easily get to all the nooks and crannies. Then I used a tiny detail brush to paint the trim in “Sand.”

20160517_122459

I also dry brushed the handles.

I20160515_173849

Using an X-acto knife, I cut Stryofoam boards to fit inside the box to help keep the iced drinks cold. I recycled boards from a local aquarium shop. You can also find large boards at your local craft store.

20160520_141321

I created my own stencil using my Silhouette Cameo. It reads “Iced Cold Drinks” and looks a little vintagey [is that a word?]. Lightly dip a stencil brush into the paint jar, and dab the excess paint onto a paper towel  Then lightly paint inside the stencil using an up & down motion to avoid seepage under it. Less is more!

Painting Stencil

Remove the stencil while the paint is still wet for crisp lines.

Iced Cold Drinks

I decided to add a pop of color to the inside lid, and stenciled this graphic using Americana Decor’s “Posh Pineapple” stencil. I use the Chalky Finish paint for stenciling.

20160520_143002

Add coordinating napkins and straws, and of course drinks, and this upcycled cooler is ready for entertaining!

20160522_164022

Now I am one step closer to summertime.

20160522_163811

Disclosure: I am part of DecoArt’s Blogger Outreach Program and have received products and compensation for this post. However, all opinions are 100% mine. And I really do love their products!

decoart_blogger_outreach_program_badge (2)

 

4 thoughts on “Upcycled Toy Chest into Drink Cooler

Leave a Reply

