Beachy Furniture Makeover

Cafe Paris Magazine Table

This vintage magazine table is one of my favorite makeovers, so I thought I would share my tutorial on my new blog. 

20150501_083436

I started with this very scruffy and worn side table–a pretty good deal for $10 at the flea market. I knew it had great bones and would look happier with a bit of paint and stencils.

20150523_115407

Since I was going for a summery, beachy look, I painted the entire surface and legs with a 50/50 mix of two DecoArt chalky finish paint in Everlasting and Treasure. After just one coat, I lightly brushed a watered-down Everlasting to create the look I wanted to achieve.

20150523_115419

Then I carefully painted just the edges of the magazine holders with pure Everlasting. Once the paint dried, I sanded the piece to create a naturally-distressed look.

20150523_135910-1-1

No. 1 and No. 2 stencils were painted on each side of the table.

 

And a Cafe Paris stencil on top. Stencil designs were created using the color, Carbon. A final coat of satin wax, and the beach-inspired side table is complete.

20150523_170958

 

 

20150526_153158.jpg

This vintage side table makeover is complete — and 100% doggie-approved! Now all I need is the beach house [sigh].

 

15 thoughts on “Beachy Furniture Makeover

  1. Pingback: Vintage Charm #36
  2. Hi Doreen! First time here & popping over from Vintage Charm….just wanted to say I love your table transformation! The blue color is perfect and I especially like the “No 1 & 2” stencils!
    Great job!
    Florence

    Like

    1. Hi Florence,
      Welcome to my little creative blog. So glad you like my beachy makeover. Lately I find I can’t get enough of beach and nautical inspiration. I hope you’ll follow and visit often.

      Like

  3. This is fantastic! I love the colors your chose and the black lettering ties the whole thing together! Where can I get these stencils?

    Like

    1. Hi Jess,
      Thanks so much! It’s one of my favorite pieces. The stencils are from DecoArt. Their Americana Decor stencil line is one of my favorites, as I love their vintage look. I chose both the Cafe Paris and Old World Numbers for this project. Both JoAnn’s and Michael’s sells them, plus you can order them online. Let me know if you make something using these stencils!
      Doreen

      Like

      1. Thank you for your reply! I know you’re wicked busy. I was able to purchase all of these stencils on Amazon! I believe i got just about all of them in the collection and then-some. I even found the vintage keys too. We just inherited a vintage hope chest from my husband’s grandmother that is in need of care. The bones are in excellent condition and I think it’s possibly from the early 1960’s. My husband says it was there before he was lol. So I’m thinking a vintage makeover using these stencils! I want to send you a pic of it before I do anything so if you have any advice on what or what not to do, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it! Thanks again, Jess

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

