Cake Shop Kitchen Rack

20160514_172944.jpg

This old wooden rack and towel holder was in search of a new lease on life. So that’s exactly what it got!  Meet “CAKESHOP 1988,” my new utensil and towel rack.

20160702_115905

My materials include two repurposed jars with lids, a vintage rolling pin, a set of new wooden utensils, and the inspiration for this piece: a linen grain sack kitchen towel.

20160702_142301

With a coat of paint, an adorable stencil and accessories–painted to match–this is now one of my favorite home decor kitchen pieces.

Cakeshop Closeup

20160702_121030

I removed the wooden dowel and added a vintage rolling pin, which fit perfectly through the existing holes. The handles were already green, so I just left them alone!

20160702_121106

I painted grain sack stripes on the utensils and jar lids, inspired by the beautiful kitchen towel.

20160702_132055

I just love before & after makeovers, don’t you?

Editor’s Note: This beautiful stencil came from Maison de Stencils and it’s currently on sale at 40%.

16 thoughts on “Cake Shop Kitchen Rack

  1. How pretty is this? I have one of these old envelope holders, call them what you will, and I have been racking my brain trying to figure out what to do with it. This would be a great solution. Thank you for your Sweet Inspiration Doreen! Pinning and sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

