Sew On & Sew Forth

20160722_102613

 

20160722_103005

You know I love a good flea-to-fab makeover. What you might not know about me is that I also sew. My Mom taught me when I was six years old. She bought me one of those mini metal singer machines–the perfect size to create doll clothes.

OMG! Blog post update: My Mom just gave me a batch of old photos, and look what I found, a photo of me sewing on the mini sewing machine just as I remember. Even though this is a b&w photo, believe me, it was a beautiful bright red.

Doreen sews 1963

It was a grand day when I got promoted to use her vintage Singer treadle machine, that my Mom and Dad brought with them when they moved from London to California. It still runs better than any machine built today!

When I spotted this vintage gem at the flea market, I bought it. A little sad perhaps, but with a couple coats of chalk paint, it cleaned up nicely. After varnishing, I lightly distressed the edges.

20140726_161938

It needed something extra, so I transferred this beautiful French Typography graphic

french-fabrique-graphicsfairy009bsm

from The Graphics Fairy, and voila! I transferred it to both top panels.

20160722_103005

I lined the inside of the sewing box with vintage patterns–a perfect match.

20160722_103838

Note the narrow channel to hold bobbins. One day I plan to thread a dozen bobbins with different colors of thread, ready to use. I tend to reuse just one bobbin over and over again.

20160722_103717

20160722_102713

20160722_103005

If you’re interested in purchasing this vintage gem, leave a comment with your email and we’ll work something out. I’m setting up an Etsy shop, and soon many of my flea-to-fab makeovers will be for sale.

You might like my other vintage sewing box makeover.

This project is featured on The Graphics Fairy and Talk of the Town

Talk-of-the-Town-featured-button

I’m linking my projects here and at Coastal Charm.

16 thoughts on “Sew On & Sew Forth

  1. Love it! I have that same sewing box. I brought it home and painted it aqua. Planned on adding a graphic, but no; it’s still just aqua. 🙂 Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the name of your blog! Amazing and beautiful transformation for the sewing box. Looks beautiful next to the antique sewing machine. Thanks so much for stopping in to share you project with us at Brag About It! Pinned to share.

    Like

  3. I love what you have done here and adding that vintage liner was the cherry on top of the sundae . . .the little extra that made it beyond perfect. Great Job!

    Like

  4. You’re going to have me on the look out for a sewing case like yours, Carol. I just love your makeover 🙂 Thanks for linking it up at Vintage Charm–

    Like

  5. How exciting to stumble onto this post! I have a sewing case very similar to this that I found at a garage sale a year ago. It has spindle legs, cross bar and handle, but is the same otherwise. I haven’t done anything to it because I moved a week or so later, but was going to just refinish it. Now I’ll have to reconsider what I want to do with it! You did such a nice job reworking yours. I’m sure it’ll sell quickly! Had my MIL’s treadle machine for a while, but gave it to her granddaughter after my DH died so it would stay in the family (we had no children). I’d still love to have one, but they are way too heavy for me to manage any more. You have wonderful talent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

