Repurposed Tray & City Map

20140824_150607

This old tray was perfect for serving up my inspiration for its new look. Although the picture is quite pretty, it wasn’t part of my plan. 

Our daughter lives in “The City by the Bay,” which also happens to be my old hometown.  She absolutely loves everything about San Francisco.  On our last visit, I noticed she didn’t have coasters; and since she’s “borrowing” her grandparents’ antique furniture…let’s just say, the coffee table will soon need a new coat of varnish.  Until then, I decided to combine fun with functional, and use an old SF map to create coasters and a coordinating serving tray for her.

20140824_150612

I painted the frame with an antique white paint using a light brush stroke to give the tray a distressed, vintage look.  After all, paper maps are vintage, right?  The handles were painted sage green to match the parks on the map.  I sealed the entire tray with antique decoupage to emphasize a vintage look. After deciding on the section of the map to use, I cut it to size to fit inside the frame, and decoupaged it into place, then brushed the entire tray with matte decoupage sealer.

The tray cost $3 at the local thrift store. The map was free. The paint was on hand. So for a $3 investment, the old tray now looks like this:

20140829_101741

To make the coasters, I cut four 4″ squares from another map and decoupaged them onto stone tiles.

20140824_143244

20140824_143406

20140829_101350

I also decoupaged a small box to neatly hold the four tile coasters when not being used.

20140829_101237

When the coasters are lined up, you can see the entire Golden Gate Park and the surrounding neighborhoods.

20140829_101437

20140829_101602

20140829_101608

For the photo op, I leaned the tray against my kitchen wall, coincidently right under a schematic of the Golden Gate Bridge.

20140829_102122

Now I’m going to pop the tray and coaster set into the mail — marked fragile, handle with care — and surprise my daughter with a little handmade DIY. This would also be a wonderful housewarming gift for someone who just moved into a new neighborhood!

5 thoughts on “Repurposed Tray & City Map

  1. LOVE these projects, and what a sweet gift for your daughter. I especially like that San Francisco is so clearly visible on the tray–nice layout. Thanks so much for linking up with Vintage Charm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

